Blech

We spent the weekend in the hospital with poor Evie, who caught some sort of bug and lost a lot of fluid from both ends. She ended up dehydrated and requiring an IV. I hope that the process of sticking her to give her the IV was more traumatic for me than it was for her. I couldn’t help but question my actions as I held down my crying (with no tears – she was too dehydrated to make tears) and screaming child while the nurses wiggled a needle around in the back of her tiny hand. The IV success rate was 20-25% – most of the attempts to get a working IV failed either entirely or shortly after taping it to her arm.

Of course we tried less invasive methods to hydrate her first, but she wasn’t interested in nursing, drinking milk from a cup, or drinking Pedialyte. We did manage to get an ounce and a half of Pedialyte into her with a syringe, which she promptly puked onto the hospital floor. All of the sticking did manage to do one thing – it eventually upset her badly enough that she nursed and nursed and nursed. She did get better after a couple of days, with the help of a little bit of saline and a lot of exclusive breastfeeding.

Everything turned out all right, and today she has been playful (although a touch clingy, which is understandable after all the stickings from strangers). But I have to wonder if I could have done something better. The nurses mentioned something about strapping her to some kind of board in order to place the IV, which is what they apparently normally do with very young children. I insisted on holding Eve myself, and even though it upset me to do it I have to hope that it was better than the alternative.

Here’s hoping that the rest of the week is significantly less shitty.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Blech”

  1. theroamingnaturalist Says:

    You did the right thing, don’t worry. She will completely forget it ever happened – your mom (and mine, and everyone else’s) had to do something like that at some point for their child when the child was ill or in danger. Don’t beat yourself up so much. Evie’s fine now. The only scary thing I remember from my childhood illnesses is my pediatrician slapping me in the butt whilst checking my spine, and having to lift my shirt to show some rash I had and expose my breasts. She came from you and your man – she’s TOUGH! 🙂

  2. baj4life Says:

    Hugs to you and your little one (if you want them, of course!).

Leave a Reply

