WHAT?!

I took a mental health day today. Rather than spending another day moping at work looking all sad, I decided to take a day to do some of my lactation studies, prepare myself for the workshop I’ll be participating in this weekend, and just reset my brain and attitude into a place that wasn’t weepy or self-pitying. I wanted to be able to go to work Monday feeling more like my usual self.

I just got a call from my would-have-been boss. She apparently set up a meeting with Human Resources and her own boss, and they all worked out a solution that benefits everyone and still [mostly] abides by the rules. They’re going to repost the job under a different job title, and HR has said that as long as I apply for it, it’s mine – I don’t even have to interview again. My future boss is going to be calling my current boss on Monday to give her a heads-up and let her know that I’ll be leaving my current team.

I am absolutely fucking floored that this has happened, and I feel awesome about the fact that my future boss fought for me long after I thought that everything was done.

I was not expecting such good news late on a Friday. What an emotionally exhausting fucking week. How has everyone else’s week been?

Tags:

4 Responses to “WHAT?!”

  1. Nicole Says:

    YYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYY!!!!! 🙂 You deserve it!!!

  2. Ruth Says:

    That’s more like it! Now, instead of having to wait to do the job you want, you can start working in your field and become experienced. Then when you finish your degree, you will be able to command a larger salary.

    I am having a nice vicarious feeling of pleasure about this, because this is how it’s supposed to happen.

  3. baj4life Says:

    Awesome! Congrats!

  4. GallingGalla Says:

    Congrats! I’m glad this came through for you.

Leave a comment